How She Gets to Bed: Nykki Yeager, CEO & Co-Founder of Flight CX

The Snoozeletter
4 min readFeb 28, 2021

--

How She Gets to Bed is a deep dive into how women who kick ass during the day spend their night. Tonight, we’re thrilled to feature Nykki Yeager, CEO and co-founder of Flight CX, a company that builds customer experience teams for leaders who put people first. She has over a decade of experience in tech startups in roles across customer support, customer success, and marketing. She has also worked as an independent consultant offering strategic support for early and mid-stage startups and career coaching. She believes that business should serve people, and she loves helping companies adopt more human-centric practices that benefit their customers and teams. Without further ado, here is how she gets to bed. 💤

Nykki’s Background

Industry: Agency
Occupation: CEO and Co-founder of Flight CX
Age: 33
Location: Oakland, CA
Awake by: 8:00 AM
Asleep by: 11:00 PM

On the Day-to-Day

I spend a big part of my day in meetings with my team and clients, as well as running business development and sales calls. Our company is very young and growing fast, so I’ve also been spending a lot of time lately working on a bunch of projects across sales, marketing, and operations.

Activities to Relax

Some days I’ll do a workout. I like extremes, so Bikram yoga and HIIT training are my favorites! I also LOVE to cook, so I make dinner every night, and that’s my official transition into the evening. I typically come back to my computer for at least an hour after dinner, but preparing and eating is a great break and an important marker that the end of the day is near.

Products to Get Unready

I use Bioderma Micellar water and Paula’s Choice Foaming Cleanser, then Paula’s Choice Pore-Reducing Toner, followed by Curology’s moisturizer, their medicated cream, and a few Hero Cosmetics acne patches. It sounds like a lot but it takes me five minutes, tops.

Then I’ll make my tea, heat up my microwavable rice heating pad (this one is absolutely amazing!) and go over to the small shelf I have hanging in my bedroom to heat up a few drops of Vitruvi Lavender oil over a tea-light warmer and ring a brass singing bowl to signal the official close of day.

Microwavable rice heating pad from Etsy

Late Night Snacks

Decaf Genmaicha Tea from Yama Moto Yama that is so toasty and comforting, pistachios or cashews, and Trader Joe’s Fruit Leather Buttons!

Nighttime Routine

4:30 PM — Workout. These days, I’m doing workouts via Zoom which makes it even easier to fit into my schedule with the broad availability of options and zero commute time.

6:00 PM — Cook dinner. Sometimes I’ll do something super simple like roasted fish and vegetables. Other times when I have a specific craving or want a longer decompression, I’ll do something more intensive or elaborate. I order takeout maybe once a month at this point, which has saved me a ton of money and sharpened my cooking skills even more!

8:30 PM — Finish a bit of work. After dinner, I almost always have a second wind where I want to come back to my desk for an hour or two. Depending on my energy level, I’ll either do something relatively easy like answering emails or spend some focus time on a project.

10:30 PM — Wind down. This is when I wash my face, make my tea and heat my rice pack, burn some lavender oil and ring my singing bowl. From there, I’ll do a bit of reading. Sometimes it’s dumb articles on my phone and other times it’s a good book, though I’ll admit I always feel more fulfilled and relaxed with a book.

Be sure to check out Flight CX and its mission here!

The Snoozeletter makes it easy to squeeze some “me time” into your busy schedule. We send only the good stuff: picks of tried-and-true products, tips to relax, and interesting reads to get cozy with right before bedtime. Subscribe here or at https://thesnoozeletter.com. You can also follow us on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook.

--

--

The Snoozeletter

The nightly newsletter to uplift and relax you right before bedtime. Subscribe at www.thesnoozeletter.com. Submit a guest blog post to hq@thesnoozeletter.com